Money money money

Back again, as promised!

Apologies for the slightly mopey post a couple of days back – I don’t regret taking a bit of time to myself, though, and am now back to quickly report on one of my ‘resolutions’ – the personal and professional targets you’ll see below.

All in all, they’re working really well – I felt truly motivated at times in the week leading up to their ‘deadline’, but from now I might say 4 targets minimum, rather than 6 (depending on their nature). This is because at times I did feel overly pressured, not so much to complete the task, but more to do it a specific time which really didn’t suit me. I appreciate that this is a part of fitting the things you love into adult life, but within reason; I couldn’t help but remember, as I lugged myself before bed to the laptop for some manuscript transcribing, that this is meant to make me feel good.  Anyway, look to the bottom of my post for the next four, again due to be finished a week from today (next Sunday).

I also want to write a little bit about a larger topic (in keeping with my ‘normal’ posts) – money. Specifically, the relationship between money and happiness in people of my age bracket (early-career ‘millennials’). Now, I make a decent wage for my age, I’ve always tried to be careful with money (albeit not perfectly!) and, ice cream excluded, I don’t really have expensive habits (drinking, smoking etc.) Yet I still find my money is disappearing.

Now this is normal, I suppose – in an age where house prices are soaring, for example, I don’t hesitate to squirrel quite a lot of my monthly salary away. I don’t mind not having tonnes of disposable cash – what bothers me is how that can restrict social interactions. In the past, I’ve always been almost unhealthily eager to snap up every opportunity to ‘go out’ with friends (out of an anxiety mentioned below, and certain to return!) What never really struck me was how much this ‘Fear of Missing Out’ (FOMO – see here: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear_of_missing_out) has cost me, materially speaking.

Perhaps, in a perverse way, being a bit strapped for cash could help me, and others, understand that a good time with friends doesn’t have to involve spending. What ever happened to going for a walk, or having a cup of tea in the living room? These are things which I think, in our increasingly fast-paced lives (being millennials in 2017), we unconsciously believe we don’t have time for – but we really need to. Just a thought.

Tasks: 

Personal Professional
Finish ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’, by Anne Bronte. Read up on introductory works for publishing careers.
Complete one poem (at least 16 lines) Complete some recommended AND further reading for next semester (MA).

 

NB: Volunteering opportunities are still on my agenda, they just unfortunately don’t fit with my career objectives right now. I’m putting them on the back-burner just for a little while. Perhaps I’ll need to forget how it complements my C.V. for a bit…

Leave a Reply

